​National Trading Standards appoints new Chair

The National Trading Standards Board is delighted to confirm that Lord Michael Bichard will take over as the Chair of National Trading Standards from 1 June 2022.

Lord Bichard brings a wealth of experience to National Trading Standards through a wide range of chairing and advisory roles across. Michael takes over from the previous Chair, Lord Toby Harris, and will lead the Board in ensuring effective governance, delivery and oversight for all National Trading Standards activity.

Lord Bichard said: "I am very pleased to be taking up this role and building on the excellent work that National Trading Standards has been doing. We all know these are challenging times for Trading Standards and for consumer protection more widely and I am looking forward to working with everyone in the Trading Standards community and all our partners."

Notes to Editors

About National Trading Standards

National Trading Standards delivers national and regional consumer protection enforcement. Its Board is made up of senior and experienced heads of local government trading standards from around England and Wales with an independent Chair. Its purpose is to protect consumers and safeguard legitimate businesses by tackling serious national and regional consumer protection issues.

The National Trading Standards Board funds Regional Investigation Teams that target rogue trading, doorstep crime and scams, providing support across England and Wales through eight regionally based teams – one of which is the Tri Region Investigation Team that provides support to local trading standards services conducting investigations with regional and national implications.